Home Events Lecture Local Group online Scottish Astrological Association: The Division of Sky in Chinese Astrology

Scottish Astrological Association: The Division of Sky in Chinese Astrology

With Rod Chang
This talk is included in SAA membership. Non-SAA members can register here for a £5 (but no one turned away for lack of funds)

Ancient Chinese divide the sky into seven regions. Three of them, called the Three Enclosures, are near the north celestial pole and the polar star, while the other four, the Four Symbols, are along the zodiac. These four zodiacal regions are symbolised with totems of dragon, tiger, turtle and bird, and are further divided in 28 mansions. In this talk, these celestial totems will be introduced together with the 28 mansions, and we will discuss how these astrological concepts relate to I-Ching and Feng-shui (Chinese geomancy).

Rod Chang has studied astrology for over twenty years, He has spoken at several international conferences in Poland, the UK, and Australia, Rod has also been invited to teach at the Faculty of Astrological Studies Summer school in Oxford.

His favourite aspects are fixed stars, mundane astrology, financial astrology, astromap and a humanistic approach to astrology. He has written a number of books on astrology in Chinese and has taught it in Mandarin for around ten years. He is a co-founder of the Academy of Astrology with Jupiter Lai. Rod is also the founder of the newly launched Academy of Astrology UK, bringing the AOA to English speaking students of astrology.

website: www.rodchang.com

Image credit: Dunhuang Star Atlas (first section here) showing each of the lunar months and the north polar region. The atlas is detailed, showing a total of 1345 stars in 257 clearly marked and named asterisms, or constellations, including all twenty-eight mansions. Public Domain.